Criminal and DUI Defense Attorney Serving Northern Alabama Including Decatur and Huntsville
D.U.I. – Driving Under the Influence
If you have been charged with D.U.I. in Alabama, you should speak to an Alabama DUI attorney about your case immediately. You may have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, under the influence of a controlled substance, under the influence of alcohol and a controlled substance, or under the influence of another substance that makes you incapable of driving safely. If you are under 21 years of age and have been charged with D.U.I. different rules apply.
Please call (800) 621-3591 or contact us to speak to an Alabama DUI lawyer about your case, today.
Numerous issues may arise when you are charged with D.U.I. in Alabama, including:
- D.U.I. under 21 years old
- D.U.I. with commercial driver’s license (CDL)
- Second, third, fourth, or subsequent D.U.I.
- Youthful offender
- Driver’s license suspension
- Refuse breathalyzer and chemical tests
D.U.I. under 21 years old
If you are under 21 years old and this is the first time you have been charged with D.U.I., your punishment could be only a 30-day license suspension, depending on your blood alcohol content (BAC). If you are charged with illegal consumption of alcohol, along with D.U.I., your driver’s license could be suspended under the illegal consumption law also. It is always best to speak to an Alabama DUI attorney as soon as possible to fully inform you of your rights under the law, and your options to resolve your case.
D.U.I. and CDL
The legal limit while driving a commercial vehicle in Alabama is .04% blood alcohol level. If you have a .04% or greater, you may be charged with DUI. You will face different rules regarding commercial driver’s license suspension for refusing the breathalyzer than ordinary licensed drivers. If you have been charged with a DUI while operating a commercial vehicle, you should contact an Alabama DUI attorney today to protect livelihood.
Second, third, fourth, or subsequent D.U.I.
If this is not your first rodeo when it comes to D.U.I., you should speak to a DUI lawyer about your case as soon as possible. The court will look back five years to see if you have a prior D.U.I. and the punishment and penalties imposed are stiffer. For example, if you are convicted of a second D.U.I. in a five-year period, there is a mandatory sentence of not less than five days in the county jail or 30 days of community service (which cannot be suspended) and you may lose you driver’s license for one year, among other things.
Criminal offenses committed before you are 21 years old may be considered for youthful offender status. If the court grants youthful offender it is not a criminal offense and you may be able to answer questions from future employers that you have not been convicted of a criminal offense. The court will look at the crime you have been charged with, your history, and other relevant factors when deciding whether to grant youthful offender.
Driver’s License Suspension
Your driver’s license may be suspended for refusing the breathalyzer test or if you blow over the legal limit (.08). If you refused the breath test, you may be able to prevent your driver’s license suspension if the police officer did not properly inform you of your rights and the consequences of your refusal. Also, if you win your DUI case, a suspension for blowing over the legal limit may be withdrawn and removed from your driving record.
If you are charged for DUI and you receive a favorable outcome, you may have the records of your arrest expunged. Misdemeanors and non-violent felonies may also be expunged under the right circumstances.
Situations where you may have your records expunged include:
- Dismissed with prejudice
- No billed by grand jury
- Found not guilty
- Dismissed without prejudice (if certain other requirements are met)
We understand that each person’s situation who has been charged with a DUI is different. Call (800) 621-3591 today or contact us to speak to an Alabama DUI lawyer about your rights and options in your DUI case.